New Thomas Dolby Compilation Released

Written by on May 20, 2009

Share this:
Huge Selection of Fun Products themed to the 1980s

Thomas Dolby, the man who brought new wave synth-pop to a new level, has a newly-released CD/DVD compilation out. It’s called The Singular Thomas Dolby, spanning his illustrious solo career.
While Dolby is best known in the U.S. for his mega-hit “She Blinded Me With Science” and smash “Hyperactive” — the latter of which includes a real trombone rather than a synth-brass effect — Dolby has also been an astounding keyboardist and accomplished producer for several other projects. [amazonify]B001PSQFZU[/amazonify] He wrote “New Toy” for Lena Lovitch, performed with 80s rockers Def Lepperd and produced musically divers artists like Joni Mitchell, Lea Thompson and George Clinton. I put Lea Thompson in there because I am one of the people who actually LIKED Howard the Duck and found Thompson to be a talented singer for Dolby’s Cube. “Howard’ never got a fair shake from the Academy (yes, the same “Academy” that thought Julia Roberts was so wonderful playing a bland hooker in Pretty Woman; these were dark days for the Oscars).
Fans of Dolby will be happy to find his deeper cuts alongside the classic tracks (although they omitted “Howard the Duck”) and some bonus surprises on the DVD.
As for future plans to tour: according to his official website, details for late 2009 concerts are to come.

Here are the tracks for The Singular Thomas Dolby:

Professional stats for your podcast - Learn more here!
  • 1-Urges (3.41)
  • 2-Leipzig (3.52)
  • 3-Europa And The Pirate Twins (3.19)
  • 4-Airwaves (3.45)
  • 5-Radio Silence (3.50)
  • 6-Windpower (3.53)
  • 7-She Blinded Me With Science (3.40)
  • 8-One Of Our Submarines Is Missing (5.12)
  • 9-Hyperactive (4.12)
  • 10-Dissidents (edit) (3.52)
  • 11-I Scare Myself (edit) (4.59)
  • 12-Fieldwork (London Mix) (4.04) with Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • 13-May The Cube Be With You (3.50)
  • 14-Airhead (3.43)
  • 15-Hot Sauce (3.18)
  • 16-My Brain Is Like A Sieve (3.58) (Bill Bottrell single remix)
  • 17-Close But No Cigar (4.08)
  • 18-Silk Pyjamas (3.04)
  • 19-I Love You Goodbye (4.34)


  • 1- Europa & the Pirate Twins
  • 2-Airwaves
  • 3-Radio Silence
  • 4-Windpower (Live)
  • 5-She Blinded Me With Science (3.43)
  • 6-One of Our Submarines Is Missing (Live)
  • 7-Hyperactive
  • 8-Dissidents
  • 9-I Scare Myself
  • 10-Fieldwork (with Ryuichi Sakamoto) with Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • 11-May The Cube Be With You
  • 12-Airhead
  • 13-Hot Sauce
  • 14-Close But No Cigar
  • 15-Silk Pyjamas
  • 16-I Love You Goodbye
  • Bonus tracks
  • 17-Hyperactive (12” version)
  • 18-Fieldwork (12” version) with Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • 19-Hot Sauce (saucy version)

bet on eurovision

Share this:
Copy the code below to your web site.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

[There are no radio stations in the database]
WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera