Ron Asheton tribute concert DVD to be released in June, not Apri

Written by on February 27, 2013

The Ron Asheton Foundation announced on Tuesday the DVD for the 2011 tribute concert in honor of the famed guitarist will be released on June 4, 2013 and not April 9 as previously planned.

Asheton, best known as the former guitarist and co-songwriter for Iggy and the Stooges, died in 2009 and was unable to see his band inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame a year later. On April 19, 2011, Iggy & the Stooges, Henry Rollins and guest guitarist Deniz Tek performed the concert in Asheton’s remembrance at the Michigan Theater in Ann Arbor to a sold-out crowd of fans.

Billboard’s Gary Graff wrote picturesquely of the show:

It was a typical night of Stooges-style brutality but in an even more passionate form, as the group and its guests took a wide swing through the repertoire, clearly moved by the sense of occasion and the cacophonous spirit of the 1,700 fans who snapped up tickets for the concert in less than an hour.

The track list for the DVD will be as follows:

  1. I Got a Right (with Henry Rollins)
  2. Raw Power
  3. Search and Destroy
  4. Gimme Danger
  5. Shake Appeal
  6. 1970
  7. L.A. Blues
  8. Night Theme
  9. Beyond the Law
  10. Fun House
  11. Open Up And Bleed
  12. Your Pretty Face Is Going To Hell
  13. I Wanna Be Your Dog
  14. TV Eye
  15. Loose
  16. Dirt
  17. Real Cool Time
  18. Iggy’s Speech
  19. Ron’s Tune
  20. No Fun

All profits from the DVD sales will go to the Ron Asheton Foundation, which supports animal welfare and music. Pre-orders can be made here.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

[There are no radio stations in the database]
WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera