John Doe Collaborates with Canadian Rockers “The Sadies”

Written by on March 19, 2009

Former X leader John Doe has had one of the more diverse careers of anyone borne from the L.A. punk scene of the late 70s/early 80s and this new effort looks to be another musical gem from him. While Doe’s post-X career has included acting and solo work, his collaborative efforts include working with acts as diverse as Mojo Nixon (the Otis album) and 90s grunge icon Eddie Vedder. A new CD due out on April 14th will feature John Doe with Canadian indie rockers The Sadles, who similarly specialize in teaming up with different artists.

According to Yep Roc Records, the CD will feature several classic country songs by the likes of Merle Haggard, Roger Miller and Tammy Wynette as well as some Sadies tunes and a track written by Doe and X-bandmate (and ex-wife) Exene Cervenka
The album, Country Club, is available for pre-order. Here is the track list:

  1. “Stop the World and Let Me Off” (made famous by Waylon Jennings)
  2. “Husbands and Wives” (made famous by Roger Miller)
  3. “‘Til I Get It Right” (made famous by Tammy Wynette)
  4. “It Just Dawned on Me” (by Exene Cervenka, John Doe)
  5. “(Now and Then) There’s a Fool Such as I” (made famous by Hank Snow)
  6. “The Night Life” (made famous by Ray Price)
  7. “The Sudbury Nickel” (by The Sadies)
  8. “Before I Wake” (by The Sadies)
  9. “I Still Miss Someone” (made famous by Johnny Cash, Roy Cash Jr.)
  10. “The Cold Hard Facts of Life” (made famous by Porter Wagoner)
  11. “Take These Chains from My Heart” (made famous by Hank Williams)
  12. “Help Me Make It Through the Night” (made famous by Kris Kristofferson)
  13. “Are the Good Times Really Over for Good” (made famous by Merle Haggard)
  14. “Detroit City” (made famous by Bobby Bare)
  15. “Pink Mountain Rag” (by The Sadies)

While I am looking forward to reviewing this CD, Yep Roc reminds us that Nick Lowe’s box set Quiet Please is available now.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

[There are no radio stations in the database]
WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera