Petition: Help Bring Back a Classic Album by The Coconuts

Written by on September 30, 2009

One of several superb classic alternative albums that have been lost and are currently being held captive by a record company is Don’t Take My Coconuts by The Coconuts. In an effort to bring it back, Fans of The Coconuts are asking EMI to re-release the collection with a petition that you are invited to sign.

The Coconuts - Don't Take My Coconuts

While I support this effort, I am not the person who initiated the petition. That honor goes to a gentleman named Mick Cooper.

Don’t Take My Coconuts is a special album because it was the first to showcase the talents to the trio of Adriana Kaegi, Cheryl Lee Poirier and Taryn Hagey away from the confines of the large ensemble Kaegi founded with August Darnell and Coati MundiKid Creole and the Coconuts. It also spawned a the well-choreographed video for “Did You Have to Love Me Like You Did?” (the costumes and choreography were done by Kaegi). The ladies would eventually get their own set during Kid Creole and the Coconuts concerts.

The album also has a very interesting story as to how it came about: according to my March 2009 interview with Adriana Kaegi, The Coconuts asked Darnell for a share in the band’s royalties (they were every bit as popular as The Kid). Instead, Darnell responded with an EMI record contract and served as producer of the album, which was released on vinyl in 1983.


Their first release, “Did You Have To Love Me Like You Did?” was actually written to be sung by actress Natassja Kinski. Fatefully, it became the album’s signature track. The LP also featured a rather intriguing version of “If I Only Had a Brain”, their own rendition of “Don’t Take My Coconuts” and the ultra-captivating “Kriminal Tango.” The Coconuts did have a second album without the Kid: Killer Bees, of which the title track can be heard regularly on Revenge of the 80s.

While Don’t Take My Coconuts and Killer Bees were the only two Coconuts solo albums, Kaegi, Porier and Perri Lister (who was a Coconut for a short period of time) put together an album under the name Boomerang.

If you are a fan of The Coconuts, or a fan of great classic alternative music, please sign this petition that is being sent to EMI record company asking them to re-release Don’t Take My Coconuts.

Track Listing for “Don’t Take My Coconuts”:

  • 1)Don’t Take My Coconuts
  • 2) Naughty Boy
  • 3) Maladie d’Amour
  • 4) Ticket To The Tropics
  • 5) Indiscreet
  • 6) Kriminal-Tango
  • 7) Did You Have ToLove Me Like You Did
  • 8) If I Only Had A Brain
  • 9) The Glory That Was Eden

Reader's opinions
  1. Grace Batmonkey   On   November 3, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Re: Boomerangs – their version of “These Boots Are Made for Walking” is unexpectedly fabulous and the video is pure ’80s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

[There are no radio stations in the database]
WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera